The Mad River Valley's Community Theater
Waitsfield, Vermont
[ Home ][ Calendar ][ History ]Playwrights Award ]Cabin Fever ][ Craft Fair ]Contact Us ][ Volunteer ][ Links ]

The Vermont Playwrights Award

To view rules Click Here

To see 2012 Winner Click here

To see Past Winners Click Here 

The Vermont Playwrights Award was established in 1982 by The Valley Players, a community theater group in Waitsfield, Vermont. The intent of the award is to promote the theater arts and to encourage and support the creation of original plays by residents of Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine.

A cash prize of $1,000 will be awarded to the winning playwright. Funding for the award is provided by The Audrey Mixer Endowment Fund, a memorial to the late Audrey Mixer, a devoted actress and Valley Player, by her husband Richard Mixer. The Valley Players reserves the right not to award a prize.

The winning play also may be produced by the Valley Players, a volunteer, non-profit production company located in Vermont's beautiful Mad River Valley. Celebrating over 20 years of successful theater, the Players own the theater which seats 200 and is located on Route 100 in Waitsfield, Vermont, part of the beautiful Mad River Valley.

The company produces and supports a variety of theatrical and performing arts each year including such shows as The Dining Room, 84 Charing Cross Road, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, Don't Dress for Dinner, an annual community variety show, Cabin Fever Follies and presentations by other performing arts and theater groups.

Award submissions must be a full-length, non-musical play suitable for production by a community theater company. The contest is open only to residents of Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine. The play must not have been previously published or produced. Entrants must request the entry form and rules by mail (see below) or by reading the rules and downloading the entry form.

The deadline for submission is February 1 each year.

Thank you for your interest. 

To request rules and entry forms by mail,
send a self addressed stamped envelope to:

Vermont Playwrights Award
The Valley Players
P.O. Box 441
Waitsfield, VT 05673

For more information, call Jennifer Howard (802) 496-3751
  email: ~