top of page

presented through special arrangement with

Music Theatre International (MTI)



by Lionel Bart, directed by Ruth Ann Pattee and Michael Halloran

October 4-20, 2019

P1100936 (2).JPG

Matthew Grant Winston as Fagin with his band of pickpockets from the 2019 production

Theater Time Oliver.jpg


Consider yourself at home with Lionel Bart's classic musical based on Charles Dickens' novel, Oliver Twist. The Tony and Olivier Award-winning show is one of the few musicals to win an Academy Award for Best Picture and is widely hailed as a true theatrical masterpiece by actors and audience members alike.  Oliver originally graced the Valley Players stage in 2008, and tells the story of Oliver, a malnourished orphan in a workhouse, who becomes the neglected apprentice of an undertaker. Oliver escapes to London and finds acceptance amongst a group of petty thieves and pickpockets led by the elderly Fagin. When Oliver is captured for a theft that he did not commit, the benevolent victim, Mr. Brownlow takes him in. Fearing the safety of his hideout, Fagin employs the sinister Bill Sikes and the sympathetic Nancy to kidnap him back, threatening Oliver’s chances of discovering the true love of a family.​

Oliver 1.jpg

Sharon Dube and Sade Bolger from the 2008 production

Check out this interview with director Ruth Ann Pattee

The Cast

Oliver Twist - Christopher Cummiskey (Warren) and Tarin Askew (Warren)

Fagin - Matthew Grant Winston (Williamstown)

Bill Sikes - Andrew Roy (Montpelier)

Nancy - Marie Schmukal (Warren)

The Artful Dodger - Zoe Blackman (Waitsfield)


Mr. Bumble - Jeff Tolbert (Randolph)

Mrs. Corney - Ginger Greene (Waitsfield)

Mr. and Mrs. Sowerberry - Susan Loynd (Fayston) & Cynthia Seckler (Fayston)

Charlotte Sowerberry - Maddie Commo (Waterbury)

Noah Claypole - Ashley Hall (Warren)

Bet - Allie Brooks (Warren)

Mr. Brownlow - Tom Badowski (Moretown)

Dr. Grimwig - Jay Carpenter (Warren)

Mrs. Bedwin - Rachel Natvig (Northfield)

Old Sally - Cheri Lundblad (Moretwon)

"Who Will Buy" Quartet: Kirsten Reilly (Warren), Allie Brooks, Ashley Hall, Annie McMillion (Waitsfield)

ENSEMBLE: Andrew Roy (Montpelier), Marci Robinson (Warren), Charlotte Robinson (Warren)

Orphans & Pickpockets: Abigail Leighty (Warren), Annie McMillion (Waitsfield), Lucy Badger (Waitsfield), Jasper Mayone (Fayston), Julia Cox (Waitsfield), Camille Edgcomb (Warren), Molly Carpenter (Warren), Lessa Dreimiller (Waitsfield)

The Crew

Artistic Director & Choreographer - Ruth Ann Pattee

Music Director - Michael Halloran

Stage Manager - Joanne Puente

Set Design - Ruth Ann Pattee and Mikki Nucci

Light Operator - Amelia Brooks

Photos by Alison Duckworth, Ruth Ann Pattee, and Kiaya Korb

The Band

Keyboard - Michael Halloran 

Flute/Piccolo - Barbara Wager 

Clarinet - Danielle Trasciatti-Holmberg 

Violin - Patricia Fitzgerald

bottom of page